Letter: Monitoring speed in residential areas

Reading Time: 2 minutes

speedsign2

This letter is addressed to ALL town residents. Do you feel like your street is often used as a race track and that many people are driving WAY over the speed limit? What can you do about it other than complaining to your neighbours, coffee partners or on Facebook with your friends?

Here is a suggestion that may provide you with some facts AND help our Council and Administration with the review of the Photo Enforcement Program. You can request to have traffic monitoring equipment set up in your neighbourhood for a period of time. What this equipment does is collect raw data such as number of vehicles passing and speeds. Then the traffic sign is set up for a period of 48 to 72 hours to make people aware of their speeds. How do you request this?

Email, phone or write a letter to our Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Debbie Oyarzun and the Council members, outlining your concerns (e.g. near a park or playground or lots of small children playing, etc.). In your email indicate that you would like a “tentative date” of when the equipment would be set up and that you would like a copy of the data taken from the equipment. This would provide you with the information as to the actual number of speeders in your area of concern.

In light of safety, I’m sure the data collected from various residential sites will do two things which are:

Provide valuable data that can be used to assist those involved in the upcoming review of the Photo Enforcement Program and provide a clear message of the areas that residents are concerned about.

Email addresses:

Lisa Holmes – lholmes@morinville.ca
Nicole Boutestein – nboutestein@morinville.ca
Stephen Dafoe – sdafoe@morinville.ca
Barry Turner – bturner@morinville.ca
Brennan Fitzgerald – bfitzgerald@morinville.ca
Gord Putnam – gputnam@morinville.ca
Rob Ladouceur – rladouceur@morinville.ca
Debbie Oyarzun – doyarzun@morinville.ca

Linda Lyons and Cliff Haryett, Morinville

CLICK THE AD ABOVE FOR DETAILS
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comments

comments

About admin 8002 Articles
The Morinville News is an online daily news publication serving Morinville and surrounding area via MorinvilleNews.com, our daily email news service and our MorinvilleNews.com app for IOS and Android. You can also follow us online on Twitter @MorinvilleNews and on Facebook at Facebook.com/MorinvilleNews

4 Comments

  1. I don’t see a lot of speeders on residential streets in Morinville. What I have seen in the last couple of months are an abundance of RCMP and Peace Officers. At times one would think we live in a police state. Sometimes, you get what you ask for.

  2. Phil, don’t know where you live but it must be down around the Legion close to the RCMP! I live on 95 St about a block north from 95 Ave and when those yahoos come around 95 Ave and head north on 95 St don’t be standing on the road because you will get mowed down! I see the occasional RCMP car going by, which is strange because this is a major route. I have seen one peace officer drive by in the 12 years I have lived here. I have never seen photo radar anywhere near here. I have seen the RCMP stopping cars for doing a rolling stop at 97 St and 95 Ave. This is one of the strangest places I have ever seen a stop sign! It’s a T intersection and has a three way stop! Go down past Notre Dame school and the T intersections are through ways with one yield sign! Not very consistent traffic rules here in Morinville! I guess it’s “where ever there is possible revenue, the traffic signs change”!!! All in the interest of “safety”!

    • I won’t disagree with you Will, it appears that you know your neighbourhood very well. I am familiar with that area. I am speaking strictly from my own observations, and I rarely see the speeding you refer to. I describe this town as being in a police state after driving through the main arteries in town (100 Ave/100 St) where law enforcement can be located every 2 blocks. These certainly are not residential zones. Though not related to your comments regarding inconsistent traffic rules, take a look at Hwy 2 now.
      Double lane straight hwy and you must slow to 50 kph approaching the Cardiff Rd intersection (everywhere else in the exact situation is 70 kph). Yet take a drive down the single lane industrial road with curves and possible pedestrian/bicycle traffic on narrow shoulders at 60 kph!!! Wow.

  3. There is lots of speeding on 101 ave on the weekends day and night. Lots of tire burning also .I’m sure it can be heard on the main drag as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*