Gibbons Town Council sworn in

Mayor Bill Nimmo is sworn in by Gibbons town Manager Henry Taylor during a ceremony in council chambers Oct. 5.

By Staff

Gibbons – While many municipal council and mayoral hopefuls were out pounding on doors Tuesday night hoping to secure support for their run at office, Gibbons mayor and council were being sworn in so they could begin their terms. Mayor Bill Nimmo and his council were granted their spots by acclamation on Nomination Day Sept. 20, giving Gibbons another Election Day vacation from the polls. Rather than wait until after Oct. 18, Gibbons opted to take advantage of their right to have council sworn in early.

Joining Mayor Bill Nimmo (now in his tenth term) on Gibbons Town Council are returning Councillors Doug Horner, Bart Wyatt, Ed Parsons and George Fraser. The incumbents are joined by former Councillor James Rollison and political newcomer Norm Sandahl.

Nimmo and his council were sworn in by Town Manager Henry Taylor. Following the swearing-in ceremony, the new council held an organizational meeting, appointing Councillor George Fraser as deputy mayor for the next six months. Gibbons appoints its deputy mayor by rotating through the councillors in alphabetical order.

In addition to appointing Fraser to the position, the council also assigned councillors to a number of boards and committees within and without the town.

Back row: Councillor Norm Sandahl, Coun. George Fraser (Deputy Mayor), Coun. Bart Wyatt, Town Manager Henry Taylor. Front row: Coun. Doug Horner, Coun. Ed Parsons, Mayor Bill Nimmo, Coun. James Rollison.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email