Sturgeon County selects councillors for its contested divisions

By Staff

Sturgeon County – Voters in Divisions 3, 4 and 5 went to the polls Monday, each selecting a councillor to join Divisions 1, 2 and 6 acclaimed candidates Don McGeachy, Tom Flynn and Karen Shaw, all of whom were unopposed in their re-election bids.

Division 3 incumbent Councillor Ken McGillis was elected to a third term on Sturgeon County Council, defeating his challenger, 21-year-old Catlin Letendre, a resident of the Calahoo area and an employee of Calahoo Meats. McGillis recieved 82 per cent of the vote with 479. His challenger recieved 105 votes.

Division 4 voters selected Alcomdale farmer Dave Kluthe by a narrow margin over retired RCMP officer Al Homeniuk to represent their interest. Kluthe recieved a total of 347 votes, seven more than his oppoent. The councillor takes over the seat held by long-time Sturgeon County Councillor Jerry Kaup, who served 18 years on Sturgeon County Council after serving six years as a school board trustee.

In Division 5, incumbent Councillor Joe Milligan was elected to a second term on County Council, defeating his challenger, former Sturgeon County employee Wayne Bullock. The contest was another close race. Milligan recieved 364 votes to Bullock’s 314.

Sturgeon County Mayor Don Rigney went unopposed in his re-election bid and was acclaimed to a second term as county mayor.
Vote break downs were not made available to prior to publication deadline.

Editor’s Note: election results are not official until four days after the election.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email