Greater St Albert Catholic Schools presents Milestone Awards

Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools presented their Long Service Awards Oct. 3. Teachers from Legal and Morinville in attendance posed for a group photo. Seated in front are the five 30-Year recipients: Leanne LaRocque, Jan Maslyk, Rosie Kruhlak, Ryan Chambers and Dale Malanchen. Back row Vanessa King,Tara Ricioppo, Ginger Blanchette, Benjamin Wisniewski, Angela Gauthier, Gisele Boddez, Charlene Holm, Marlene Pelletier, Kicks Persson, Raymonde Roulston, Sam Ewanishan, and Sherry. – Lucie Roy Photo

By Lucie Roy

St. Albert – Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools presented their Long Service Oct. 3 at Ecole Secondaire Ste. Marguerite d’Youville in St. Albert.

“This year we have over 100 Long Service Award recipients,” said Rosaleen McEvoy, Chair of the Board of Trustees. “Their combined service to our school division is an amazing 1,370 years. This cumulative service demonstrates the commitment each has made to ensure the Greater St. Albert Catholic School Division continues to be a vibrant and leading district in this community, the region and the province.

McEvoy said the recognition was fitting, given the week coincided with World Teacher Day.

Of the twelve longest serving recipients receiving 30-year awards, five were from Morinville: Ryan Chambers, Rosie Kruhlak and Dale Malanchen from MCHS, Leanne LaRocque from Primeau and Jan Maslyk who is Principal at J.J. Nearing Catholic Elementary School.

Morinville Trustee Noreen Radford presented the six 25-Year Awards with three recipients from Morinville: Charlene Holm from Primeau and from Notre Dame School Principal Marlene Pelletier and Kicks Persson.

Legal Trustee Cathy Proulx presented the eight 20-Year Awards which included Legal School Principal Raymonde Roulston. The ceremony included 17 receiving the 15-Year Award presented by Trustee Lauri-Ann Turnbull. Teachers Gisele Boddez and Angela Gauthier from Notre Dame and Sherry Wiley from MCHS were amongst this group.

Thirty-one received the 10-Year Award. McEvoy said It was worth noting the 10-year recipients are typically the largest groups. “This is a real testament to the stability and commitment of our staff to the mission of Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools and the importance of the continued work the district is doing to ensure our staff is engaged in their work,” She said. The 30 5-Year Awards were presented by Trustee Hansen which included recipient Trustee Lauri-Ann Turnbull.

In total, MCHS had eight teachers receiving a milestone award, Notre Dame had 11, and Primeau had seven.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email