Voters elect two new councillors in Legal

By Stephen Dafoe

Legal – Monday’s by-election has resulted in Carol Tremblay and Ron Sharma being elected from a ballot of eight candidates. Trembley took the majority of votes with 115 cast in her favour. Close behind was Sharma with 109.

Also running in Monday’s by-election were Kurtis Haupman, who received a very close third with 107 votes, Yvonne Bilodeau (Cyr) with 80 votes, Shealene Page with 56 votes, Florence Lamb with 25 votes, Joey Seitz with 23 votes, and Curtis J. Epp with 22 votes. A total of 537 votes were cast.

Monday’s by-election fills seats left vacant by Phil Hughes and Albert St. Jean. Hughes was forced to resign due to Municipal Government Act regulations regarding attendance at council meetings; St. Jean resigned Oct. 16 due to residency requirements under the same act. St. Jean subsequently moved into his new home in Sturgeon County.

St. Jean had previously stepped down as mayor to allow his successor an opportunity to learn the mayoral ropes while he was still on Council. That successor, Mayor Lisa Magera, was reappointed mayor during Legal Council’s organizational meeting Oct. 15.

At the time, Mayor Magera said because Legal Council is a five-member council it was necessary under the Municipal Government Act to hold a by-election.