Weekend sports report

Skyhawk time
A member from Grande Prairie’s St. Joseph Catholic High School leaps for the net during a game against Bowness Friday morning. The St. Albert Catholic High School (SACHS) Skyhawk Invitational Basketball Tournament was co-hosted by MCHS and took place from Jan. 31 to Feb.2. The Skyhawk Invitational Varsity girls basketball tournament hosted 16 teams from Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. – Lucie Roy Photo

Morinville Community High School Lady Wolves Guard Carrie Mossey gets past a Chestemere Lakers player during the third quarter of a consolation game Friday afternoon. The Lady Wolves defeated second-ranked Chestemere 53-44. The Sr. Girls had played their hearts out Thursday night but fell to a 62-42 loss to Edmonton Christian. Coach Kent Lessard said foul trouble took its toll on an injury-depleted line up. “The Lady Wolves were down by only 4 at half but they could not sustain that high level of play against a deeper team,” Lessard said.

Sturgeon Init SHPOW-web
Sturgeon Hockey Club Player of the Week
Ansen Turcotte, No. 10, plays for the SHC Initiation 2 team in his first year of play. He is always excited to go to the rink and really works hard when He is out there. He is a great team player that just wants to have fun, pass the puck and try his very best. He is a natural goalie! He is always willing to help out the coaches and he is a very good listener and has learned so much in such a short time. He is still working on his backwards skating and stick handling – but he is very enthusiastic to keep learning. He has really been enjoying the Donna Stewart power skating as well and always tries to be the first player out on the ice!


The Morinville Curling Club held their annual Men’s Bonspiel over the weekend. Finals were held Sunday afternoon for the A, B and C Divisions. – Stephen Dafoe Photo

Men’s game
The Morinville Curling Club Men’s Bonspiel A Division winners pose with their award Sunday afternoon. From left: Gary Van Brabant, Gary Kearns, Gerard Boddez and Ryan Meyer. Team Van Brabant played the Jack Olson team. The B Division winners were Doug MacArthur, Roger Amyotte, Glenn Girard and Murray Watson, who defeated the Gerald Pelletier team by one point after being tied at the end of the second, fourth and eighth end. The C Division winners were the Robinson team from St Albert who had taken on the Huot team of Legal. The 19-team Bonspiel, which ran Jan. 31 to Feb. 3, attracted players from Drayton Valley, Edmonton, St. Albert, Barrhead, Legal, Morinville, Cardiff and Riviere Qui Barre. – Lucie Roy Photo

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. Thank you very much and congratulations for your work, it needed someone like you in the world of betting ?.Please keep sharing another next post

Comments are closed.