MCHS gathers to award excellence

Photos by Lucie Roy

Morinville – The MCHS Awards Ceremony for the 2012-2013 School Year took place at the Morinville Community Cultural Centre Tuesday night. More than 250 faily and friends attended the event. A total of 261 awards valued at $84,735 were presented. Awards included the Alexander Rutherford Scholarships, which encourages the pursuit of excellence by recognizing outstanding achievement. The award, supported by the Alberta Heritage Scholarship Fund, was presented to 32 students who will receive a total of $67,600.

Keegan McConaghie walked away with nine awards Tuesday night – five were Business Community Awards for Math 31, Math 30-1 Physics
30,Chemisitry 30,Biology 30 and Social Studies 30-1, Alexander Rutherford Scholarship, Grade 12 Honours and Knights of Columbus Top Honors Grade 12. The Business Community Awards & Scholarships are presented to the students with the highest final mark as shown on their official transcript from Alberta Education in each Grade 12 subject.

The MCHS HOWLS Award was presented to Tyler Hagle by MCHS Principal Todd Eistetter. This award is given to a student who has walked the talk regarding the school’s positive behaviour plan. The student shows honour, ownership, welcoming, leadership and safety in all their endeavours at the school and is a role model for all the students and faculty. Hagel also received the Business Community Award PE 30.

Sarah Bachand was the recipient of five awards Tuesday night: the Art 10 Appreciation Award, Cayley Canadian Math Contest Gr.10 2nd, Turner Goldsmith ‘Kaizen’ Award for Excellence in Writing, ATA Personal Growth English 10-1 and Grade 10 Honours.

Ben Lawrence was the recipient of six awards, including the CTS Video Production Award, three Dr. Romanowski Grade Nine awards for Science, Social Studies and Language Arts, Grade 9 Honours and the Knights of Columbus Grade 9 Top Honours Award.

Cynthia Vansevenandt was the recipient of three scholarships: the Alexander Rutherford , Morinville Historical and Cultural Society and Jonathan James Senger Memorial Scholarship. The Jonathan Senger award was presented by Debbie Martin, who created this award in memory of her son.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


  1. It’s great to see the school honor its top students; their future success will be a positive reflection of their life in Morinville.
    Congratulations to all award winners, your enthusiasm for learning and hard work will serve you well in the future.
    Best of luck to you all!
    Marvin and Gladys Kublik

  2. A huge thank you to the teachers, staff, community members and everyone involved in the awards last night. It was very well run and we enjoyed being there! Thank you!

  3. Well done to all the students who gained their awards. A special congratulations to my son Benjamin Lawrence, who has worked so hard to gain the six awards recognising his achievements after a particularly trying twelve months. I am very proud to be your father and long may you continue to “strive toward perfection”

Comments are closed.