Radford new chair of Greater St. Albert Catholic School Board

Noreen Radford is the new chair of the Greater St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School Division Board. – Lucie Roy Photo

by Lucie Roy

St. Albert – The Board of Trustees Organizational Meeting was held at the Greater St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School Division District Office Monday night. The Board of Trustees approved Noreen Radford as the boards new chair and Serena Shaw as vice chair by acclamation.

In her nomination trustee Joan Crockett said Radford served as a trustee in the District for four years and in the capacity of vice-chair for the past school term. “Noreen brings many skills and talents to the table,” Crockett said. “She is a holistic person, involved in her family, her church and in the Morinville community. Most importantly, she serves as a model of her Catholic faith.” Crockett went on to say that when the community of Morinville was going through a difficult time, Radford asked the superintendent to speak to the Parish Community at a mass and attend a Knight of Columbus breakfast, which he did, along with his family. She had the foresight to make the connection and determine what could help the community to begin to heal.

Radford has attended many conferences on topics including leadership, engagement, regulations and has shown a commitment to attending AGMs and Alberta Catholic School Trustee Association conferences. She also initiated the invitation of Leroy Sloan to speak at one of the Planning Retreats. She has represented the Board at the Zone 2/3, Policy Advisory, ATA Negotiations, Second Language Caucus and Linkages. She extended herself beyond GSACRD and served on the Zone 2/3 Advocacy Committee, which required extensive work to prepare for the meeting with the MLAs.

After taking over as Board Chair, members at the Organizational Meeting approved the Committee Structure and trustee appointments for the 2014-2015 school year. New to the list is the Grievance Committee, which will be represented by Trustees Joan Crockett and Cathy Proulx. Trustee David Caron will serve as the alternate.

Morinville Trustee Radford and Legal Trustee Proulx will be the representatives for the ATA Liaison and Morinville Trustee Brendan Kaup will be a representative on the Capital Committee with Caron and Radford as Alternate.

Other Committees for Radford include alternate for Linkages-Region 6, alternate for ATA, representative for Policy Advisory Committee with Proulx, and Radford will also participate on the St. Albert Business Incubation Strategy Oversight Committee.

Kaup will be the alternate for the ASBA Zone 2/3 and for the Education Foundation.

Enrollment numbers were also discussed at the meeting. Although numbers are not final until Sept. 30, current enrollment shows and increase of 86 students.

Trustees Cathy Proulx, Legal Ward; Serena Shaw, St. Albert Ward; Brendan Kaup and Noreen Radford Morinville Ward; David Caron, St. Albert Ward,;Joan Crockett and Rosaleen McEvoy, St. Albert Ward.
– Lucie Roy Photo

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



1 Comment

  1. Congratulations to Noreen. The Board is lucky to have such a knowlegeable, well spoken, highly-organized and passionate Chairperson.

Comments are closed.