Morinville Ward has two candidates in by-election

by Morinville News Staff

The close of nominations Monday afternoon put two in the running for the Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools Morinville Ward By-Election set for Oct. 19.

As of the close of nominations, Cathie Sarafinchan, and René Tremblay had put their names forward. Nominations will be official at noon Tuesday.

Nominations were open to any Catholic resident living within the District boundary. Morinville news has been informed both unofficial candidates are St. Albert residents.

Assuming a by-election proceeds once candidates are official Sept. 22, an advance poll will take place Oct. 14 in Morinville Council Chambers from 4:30 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. The By-Election Day will take place Oct. 19.

The new trustee will be sworn in Oct. 26.

Jennifer Maskoske, Legislative Officer for the Town of Morinville, is the Returning Officer for the Trustee By-Election. Deborah Schlag, Secretary Treasurer, Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools, is the Deputy Returning Officer.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email