Police and school staff recognized by GSACRD

by Lucie Roy

Monday’s Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools Board of Trustees regular meeting included recognition of staff who received their Master in Religious Education. The degree is designed for the preparation of teachers in the area of Religious Education or as an Administrator in Catholic Schools.


Recipients included Colin Loiselle, Carryl Bennett-Brown, Dianne Hutton (GHP), Tom Feeham, Lynn Zakreski and Louis Kloster. Unable to attend was Morinville teacher Ryan O’Gorman. The presentations were made by St. Albert Ward Trustee and Board Vice-Chair Rosaleen McEvoy and Morinville Ward and Board Chair Noreen Radford.


But teachers and staff were not the only one’s recognized. The Board recognizd St. Albert and Morinville RCMP as Friends of Education.

On hand for the presentation was Morinville Detachment Staff Sgt. Riz Suleman and Cst. Jamie Short. Reserve Constable Geoff McKay, the first Morinville School Resource Officer, accepted on behalf of St Albert.

“The district considers the RCMP involvement in their schools to be an essential contributor to its 92 per cent community satisfaction rate regarding safe and caring schools,” said Board Chair Noreen Radford during the presentation. “We also believe RCMP involvement maximizes the effectiveness of the district’s health, the CALM (Career and Life Management) and District counseling services.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email