County recognizes its volunteers

Rene Victoor accepting his Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award from Mayor Tom Flynn.

photos by Lucie Roy

On Wednesday night more than 250 residents of Sturgeon County, representing more than 50 Community Volunteer Organizations, gathered at the Morinville Community Cultural Centre for the Sturgeon Proud Awards Night.

Presentations took place for Building Blocks of the Community Award, Outstanding Volunteers for 2015, 100 Year Farm Family Award and the Farm & Acreage Beautification Awards.


The Building Blocks of the Community Award was presented to Danielle Reed and to Sturgeon Composite High School teacher Darwin Krips.


The Acreage Award was presented to Cynthia & Maurice Lafleche and the Farmstead Award to Eileen & Oskar Pretzlaf.


The 100 Year Farm Family was the Verbeek family.

The seventeen Outstanding Volunteers of the Year were Robert Altmiks, Lance Anderson-Croft, Romeo Ethier, John Danake, Joan Dutton, Dave Falls, Mary Giguere, Jill Kropp, Myron Magera, Shallen Moore,Chris Moore, Gary Pool, Marlin Richuk, Rene Victoor, Janet and Ryan Vranas, and Cheri Wilson.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email