Signs – signs, everywhere a sign: Feds call by-elections during municipal election

by Morinville News Staff

The federal government announced Sunday that federal By-elections are underway in Lac-Saint-Jean and Sturgeon River–Parkland, the latter left vacant when Interim Conservative Leader and Sturgeon River-Parkland MP Rona Ambrose stepped down over the summer.

The Sturgeon River-Parkland Conservative Association has four nominees for their candidate:
Luke Inberg, Dane Lloyd, Jamie Mozeson, and Rick Peterson.

The by-election will be on Oct. 23 – a week after Municipal Election Day in Alberta. Nominations for the municipal election close at noon Monday, Sept. 18 giving municipal and federal candidates shared branding on Morinville lawns.

Canadian citizens in Sturgeon River-Parkland who are at least 18 years old on election day are eligible to vote in the federal by-election. To vote in a federal by‑election, an elector’s home address must be in the electoral district from the first day of the revision of the voters’ lists, Wednesday, September 20, 2017, until election day, Monday, October 23, 2017.

Electors need to be registered to vote. Most electors are already registered. To check their registration, electors can visit or call us at 1‑800‑463‑6868. Unregistered electors can register at the Elections Canada office in their electoral district, or at the polls just before they vote.

Electors have several voting options to choose from: by mail, in person at an Elections Canada office, at their advance polling station, or at their election day polling place.
To vote, electors must show proof of their identity and address. The list of accepted pieces of identification is available online.

Details can be found at:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email