Nominations for provincial 2016 Heritage Awards now open

by Morinville News Staff

The province is looking for the next group of heritage heroes, and asking Albertans to help point out outstanding contributions to the preservation of heritage.

The Alberta Historical Resources Foundation Heritage Awards are awarded every two years and recognize the outstanding achievements of Albertans engaged in heritage preservation, protection and promotion.

“Whether it is dedicated volunteers sharing their passion for local history at the community museum or municipal leaders conserving cherished landmark buildings, Albertans are working hard to preserve and share Alberta’s past,” said Ricardo Miranda, Minister of Culture and Tourism in a government release Tuesday morning. “Help us honour those whose efforts are keeping our history alive for future generations by nominating a local heritage hero today.”

There are four categories of 2016 Heritage Awards: Heritage Conservation, Heritage Awareness, Municipal Heritage Preservation and Outstanding Achievement. Self-nominations are accepted.

Dr. Laurel Halladay, Chair, Alberta Historical Resources Foundation, sees the awards as an opportunity to show appreciation for those preserving the province’s history.

“Across Alberta, we are seeing a growing awareness and appreciation of our province’s history and historic resources,” she said. “The 2016 Heritage Awards are an opportunity to recognize those whose efforts enable us to share our province’s history with all Albertans and with visitors from around the world.”

Deadline for nominations is July 15, and nomination details and forms are online at

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



About admin 7713 Articles
The Morinville News is an online daily news publication serving Morinville and surrounding area via, our daily email news service and our app for IOS and Android. You can also follow us online on Twitter @MorinvilleNews and on Facebook at

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.