Sturgeon Hockey Club gathers its champions

Photos By Stephen Dafoe

Morinville – The Sturgeon Hockey Club held its annual awards Apr. 15 ahead of the organization’s Annual General Meeting. Eleven awards were handed out to acknowledge the efforts of the hockey club’s coaches and players during the 2012/2013 season. Below are this year’s award recipients. Presenting the awards is Sturgeon Hockey Club President Eric Cyr.

Dylan Stang-wed
Senior Coach of the Year:

Bantam AA Coach Dylan Stang received Senior Coach of the Year, an award presented to a coach that exhibits dedication, enthusiasm, and respect and who is a positive role model for all players.

Colin Froment-web
Junior Coach of the Year:

Peewee 1 Coach Colin Froment was awarded the Junior Coach of the Year award, an award presented for holding the same qualities as that of Senior Coach of the Year.

Keegan Hunt-web
Jeff Richardson Memorial Award – Best Senior Goaltender (Bantam/Midget):

Midget 1 backstop Keegan Hunt was presented the award for Best Senior Goaltender for 2012/2013.

Jeff Richardson, the award’s namesake, was a passionate goalie who played in Peewee and Bantam AA hockey in Morinville; AAA Midget hockey for Strathcona and St. Albert, and then he returned to Morinville to play for the Jets.

Jeff passed away in a tragic car accident at the age of 21 on Feb. 18, 2005. The award is presented in his honour each year to a Junior and Senior goaltender that exemplifies the following criteria: good ethics and sportsmanship, strong love of the game, dedication, and strong skating ability.

Nolan Reed and Kade Knight-web
Jeff Richardson Memorial Award- Best Junior Goaltender: (Atom/Peewee)

Peewee 1 goalies Nolan Reed (left) and Kade Knight (right) were presented the Junior Goaltender version of the Richardson trophy.

Caiden Rogers-web
Kevin Lynch Memorial Award-Most Improved Novice Player:

Novice 3A player Caiden Rogers received the Kevin Lynch memorial award for his efforts on the ice this past season. Nominations are based on the following criteria: skating, skills, hockey sense, and attitude.

Josh Kieser-web
Leigh Kilarski Memorial Award – Most Sportsmanlike Atom Player:

Atom 2 player Josh Kieser was deemed the most sportsmanlike Atom player this past season and received the Leigh Kilarski Memorial ward for his efforts. The memorial award is presented annually to an Atom B (2) player that exhibits motivation, enthusiasm, respect for others, congeniality and excellent sportsmanship.

Leigh Kilarski, son of Ray and Sue Kilarski, passed away tragically en route to a hockey game on Nov. 19, 1994 at the age of 11. Leigh was in his second year of Atom and was then playing for the Morinville Icebreakers. He was was an exemplary team member who is remembered as highly motivated, enthusiastic, respectful, congenial, and well-liked player and friend.

Zach Froment-web
Nicholas Deschenes Award- Most Outstanding Peewee Player:

Peewee 1 player Zach Froment was regarded as the most outstanding Peewee player this season.

The Nicholas Deschenes Award is presented annually to a highest level Peewee player that exemplifies the following attributes: good work ethic, teamwork, leadership, sportsmanship, perseverance and determination, community service/volunteerism and scholastic achievement.

The award criteria was established and modeled by Nicholas Deschesne – a former MMHA player that went on to play in the AJHL, NCAA, AHL, and ECHL. Deschenes currently plays in Europe. He is a dedicated and passionate player that believes that hard work, perseverance and determination go a long way in achieving a player’s goals.

Jason Morgan-web
Dacs Gray Memorial Award – Most Outstanding Bantam Player:

Bantam AA player Jason Morgan won the Most Outstanding Bantam Player Award for 2012/2013.

The Dacs Gray Memorial Award is presented annually to a Bantam Rep player who clearly demonstrates the following characteristics: supportive attitude of a team player, determination to set and achieve self directed goals, courtesy and diplomacy of sportsmanship, encouragement and respect of others on and off the ice.

Ryan Christen-web
Bradley Arcand Yellowdirt Memorial Award – Best Midget Winger:

Tony Arcand presented Ryan Christen with the best winger award this season Apr. 15.

The memorial award pays tribute to Bradley Arcand, who passed away tragically in a motor vehicle accident Mar. 5, 1994 at the age of 16. Arcand was in his second year of Midget A hockey with the Altrac Warriors. He is remembered as a determined winger that played with power and hustle.

The memorial trophy is awarded annually to a Midget player based on the following criteria: Player must be a winger and consistently exhibit determination, power, and hustle on the ice.

Kent Swanson-web
Terry Grykuliak Memorial Award- Outstanding Hockey Volunteer:

Kent Swanson, who has coached in Initiation, Novice, and served as Initiation Director was presented the Terry Grykuliak Memorial Award Apr. 15 for his outstanding work as a hockey volunteer.

Grykuliak passed away tragically en route to his son’s hockey game Nov. 19, 1994 along with his son’s teammate Leigh Kilarski. Grykuliak was the manager for the Atom B Morinville Ice Breakers at the time and was an outstanding hockey volunteer. He served in many capacities, including assistant coach, equipment manager, team manager and on the MMHA executive. He is remembered as a dedicated man that who was always willing to lend a hand. This award is given annually to a volunteer that demonstrates dedication, devotion, and willingness to lend a hand, as well as to someone who serves in an official capacity as a coach, manager, or board member.

Ashton Whiting-web
Brian Puchala Special Moments- Hockey Camp Winner:

Ashton Whiting was the recipient of this special award selected by the Puchala family. Jennifer Lawrence presented the award on behalf of the family. All Sturgeon Hockey Club players are eligible to apply.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email