Prentice sworn in as premier, announces his cabinet


by Morinville News Staff

Premier Elect Jim Prentice is now Premier Jim Prentice. The leader of the PC Party was sworn in at 1 p.m. Monday afternoon and immediately set about announcing his cabinet.

“As of this moment, Alberta is under new management,” Prentice said. “This is a new government with new leadership, new voices and a new way of doing things. Today and in the days and weeks to come we will take strong and decisive action to bring real and tangible change to the way in which Alberta is governed.”

The new Cabinet is lighter by 10 members: Prentice is joined in his new cabinet by 16 Ministers and three Associate Ministers, down from the 19 Ministers and 10 Associate Ministers that were sworn-in Dec. 6, 2013. Cabinet positions are as follows:

Minister of Municipal Affairs, Diana McQueen; Minister of Finance, Robin Campbell; Minister of Health, Stephen Mandel; Minister of Education, Gordon Dirks; Minister of Human Services, Heather Klimchuk; Minister of Innovation and Advanced Education, Don Scott; Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development,Verlyn Olson; Minister of Jobs, Skills, Labour and Training, Ric McIver; Minister of Energy, Frank Oberle; Minister of Justice and Solicitor General, Jonathan Dennis; Minister of Transportation, Wayne Drysdale; Minister of Infrastructure, Manmeet Bhullar; Minister of Service Alberta, Stephen Khan; Minister of Culture and Tourism, Maureen Kubinec; Minister of Environment and Sustainable Resource Development, Kyle Fawcett; and Minister of Seniors, Jeff Johnson.

Joining the new Ministers are three Associate Ministers: Associate Minister of Aboriginal Relations, David Dorward; Associate Minister of Asia Pacific Relations, Teresa Woo-Paw; and Associate Minister of Persons with Disabilities, Naresh Bhardwaj.

Alberta’s Lieutenant Governor, His Honour, Colonel (Retired) the Honourable Donald S. Ethell, administered the oaths of office. Premier Prentice was joined by representatives from First Nations, as well as several faith-based communities from across Alberta.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email