Sturgeon County volunteers appreciated

Above: Sturgeon County Mayor Tom Flynn and award recipient Carol Kaup.

by Lucie Roy

Sturgeon County gathered to recognize the outstanding people, boards, and organizations who volunteer in the communities Tuesday night. The event was held at the Morinville Community Cultural Centre. Award presentations followed the supper.

The Building Blocks of the Community Award was presented to Jessica Gray, Vanessa King and Kyle Swenson by members of the Sturgeon County Youth Council.

There were 22 Outstanding Volunteers of the Year presentations. Recipients included Daniel Antoniuk, nominated by Sturgeon Rural Crime Watch; Carol Kaup, nominated by Rendez-Vous Centre; and Colleen Robinson, nominated by Cardiff Community Association.

More than 50 Community Volunteer Associations received grants Tuesday night. These grants, totalling $350,874, fell into several categories: Community Association Grant ($78,816), Community Enhancement Grant ($61, 591), the Family Community Support Services grant ($16,000), the Senior Association Grant ($10,098), and the Arena Grant ($39,030).

Sturgeon Victim Services Unit received a Community Services Grant. The FCSS grant will assist them with the cost of promotional activities related to SVSU, and training and support for program volunteers. Also receiving a grant was Sturgeon Rural Crime Watch.

The Sturgeon Agriplex Society received the Association Operational Grant to subsidize the costs of running the Agriplex and an Association Capital Grant for kitchen equipment.

Community Services Seniors Grant was awarded to the Rendez-Vous Centre and Legal Club 60 Roses to assist with operational costs of their Seniors Centre.

The Cardiff Community Association received the Association Operational Grant to assist with operational costs to the Community League, the Association Capital Grant for an audio visual update, and the Enhancement Grant for the retexture of hall ceiling.

The Association Canadienne-Francaise De-L’Alberta Regionale Centralta received the Association Enhancement Grant to furnish the video conference room to serve Sturgeon County.

Daniel Antoniuk nominated by SRCW

Print Friendly, PDF & Email