Ten-way race for Morinville Town Council

By MorinvilleNews.com Staff

Morinville – Three years after Morinville’s six councillors were elected by acclamation, 10 names have been tossed into the ring for those same six seats. Four incumbent councillors are being challenged by six newcomers, each hoping to earn a spot at the council table.

Returning in their bid for another term on council are Councillors Paul Krauskopf, Donna Phinney, Ben Van De Walle and Gordon Boddez. Current Morinville Town Councillor Joe Gosselin has decided to step down from municipal office and Councillor Joseph Trapani filed nomination papers Monday to run against incumbent Mayor Lloyd Bertschi.

Taking on council incumbents are newcomers Lisa Holmes, Nicole Boutestein, Kerry Knight, Jackie Luker-Chevalier, Lucie Roy and Dave Pattison. An additional candidate had filed papers by the Sept. 20 noon deadline but withdrew his nomination early that afternoon.

Candidates have until noon Tuesday to withdraw their nominations.

Stay tuned to MorinvilleNews.com for a more in depth article on the 10 candidates for Morinville Town Council later this week.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email